ULYSSES CITY COUNCIL REGULAR SESSION November 23, 2020

November 23, 2020
Tim McCauley
John Duran, Ken Warner, Jerry Jo Deckert, Caleb Woods, and Sam Guy

Visitors: Jantz Becker, Jessie Archuleta, and

Pastor Nathan Engelman

Alan Olson, and Sarah Britton

Mayor Tim McCauley called the meeting to order at 5:00pm.

The **Pledge of Allegiance** was led by Mayor Tim McCauley.

Pastor Nathan Engelman led the room in Opening Prayer.

CONSENT AGENDA

Staff Present:

Motion by Council Member Warner, seconded by Council Member Deckert to approve the consent agenda. Council Members Woods, Duran, and Guy, voted yea. Those voting nay, none. Motion carried, 5 yeas. Nays, none

Motion by Council Member Warner, seconded by Council Member Deckert to add local face covering protocol. Council Members Woods, Duran, and Guy, voted yea. Those voting nay, none. Motion carried, 5 yeas. Nays, none

Visitors:

Resident Jessie Archuleta spoke to the council regarding the importance of wearing face masks during the covid-19 pandemic.

OLD BUSINESS

NEW BUSINESS

Zoom Meeting with Earles Engineering

Location, Project Limits, Description, Scope of Work

US 160 rehabilitation from Missouri St East to between Cheyenne and Stubbs Rd. The project is an asphalt millings with a 5 inch concrete overlay. In addition, it is planned to widen shoulders and extend and widen turn lanes to improve safety and accessibility.

Elizabeth Hopp with Earles Engineering spoke with the council regarding the next steps of the US 160 rehabilitation project. Elizabeth stated that if the city would like to make any changes to this project this would be the time. One question that the council had would they be able to add a turning lane into the new car wash.

City Administrator Olson stated if Pete Earles with Earles Engineering could get back with the city regarding making US 160 from Missouri past All Pro Auto Parts two lane, or a turning lane into the new car wash, and how much of cost increase that would be.

Elizabeth also asked the council if they would like to use a detour or a traffic light when doing the construction on 160. The council agreed to use a traffic light during the construction.

Grant County Mask Mandate/Resolution No. 20-09

The Board of County Commissioners of Grant County, Kansas, have been given a choice of retaining authority or following Governor Laura Kelly's Executive Order 20-68 to implement a statewide face coverings protocol; and

The Board of County Commissioners have chosen to retain local authority and adopt coverings protocol for its citizens; and

The Board of County Commissioners have determined wearing a face covering in public is the easiest and most effective way to protect each other, ease the burden on our overburdened healthcare system, and help our businesses open and our economy, we hereby as of its citizens the following:

Effective at 12:01 a.m. on Wednesday, November 25, 2020 any person in Grant County shall wear a face coving when they are in the following situations:

See Resolution No. 20-09 for further information:

The council discussed the mask mandate and were in agreement with supporting resolution 20-09.

STAFF COMMENTS

City Administrator Olson stated each year the city gives the employees \$100.00 dollars in Ulysses Bucks for Christmas, and sense this year we will not be able to have a Christmas Party would we be able to give the employee's \$150.00 in Ulysses Bucks.

The council was in agreement with the \$150.00 Ulysses Bucks for each employee.

COUNCIL MEMBER'S COMMENTS

Council Member Deckert stated the Christmas decorations look great.

Council Member Duran also stated the Christmas decorations look good.

Council Member Warner wished everyone a Happy Thanksgiving.

Mayor McCauley thanked everyone for the comments on the mask mandate, and wished everyone a Happy Thanksgiving.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Council Member Warner, seconded by Council Member Duran to adjourn the meeting at 6:11 p.m. Motion carried, 5 yeas. Nays, none.

Mayor Tim McCauley	Council Member Jerry Jo Deckert

Council Member	Council Member Kenneth Warner
Council Member Sam Guy	Council Member John Duran
Council Member Caleb Woods	City Administrator Alan Olson
 City Clerk Sarah Britton	